Both parties must be 21 years of age or older, appear before the clerk together, provide proof of age (drivers license or birth certificate), and pay $37.00. If either party has been previously married, we will also need to know the date the last marriage ended. Both parties should also be prepared to provide both parents' full (including maiden) names. You must also complete this form and submit prior to obtaining your license. You will be issued the license on the day you apply. After the ceremony, you will be required to return the license to the clerk for recording no later than 5 days after the marriage.
How far in advance must we apply for marriage license?
Once a marriage license is issued, there is no time limit on completing the marriage ceremony.
When can we apply for marriage license?
While appointments are preferred for marriage licenses, they may be issued at any time during regular business hours. We strongly encourage you to call ahead to streamline the process and arrive at the clerk's office no later than 4:00 pm. Please call (601) 928-5246 for further details.
Can I get married at the courthouse?
You will receive your marriage license the same day you apply, and you may have the ceremony the same day. However, it is your responsibility to make arrangements with a licensed minister or other official with the authority to perform marriage ceremonies according to state statute.
How do I get my name changed after getting married?
After the marriage ceremony, and after the officiate has signed all documents, the bottom section of the marriage license and the statistical record must be returned to the clerk's office for filing with the State of Mississippi.Once the documents are filed, the bride may obtain a certificate of marriage from the clerk's office for a fee of $17. The certificate of marriage may then be used for name change with the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Social Security Administration.
How can I get information regarding old marriage licenses (i.e., genealogy)?
Marriage records from July 1916-current are held locally in the circuit clerk's office.Marriage records can be researched for a fee of $17 per marriage, which includes a certified copy if the record is here. We will need both the groom's complete name and the bride's complete name, including her maiden name, and the approximate date of marriage. You may also download this form and submit along with payment for a quicker response.
Can I get married if I'm under the age of 21?
If you are not yet 21 years of age, you must have parental consent to marry in Mississippi. This is commonly handled by the parents signing the marriage license application when the couple applies for the license. If you are over the age of 18 but not yet 21, your parent(s) may submit a sworn statement giving their permission for you to marry in lieu of appearing before the clerk. If the parents submit this sworn statement, the underage parties must present a birth certificate or other legal documents verifying the parentage. The necessary form may be found here. Certain restrictions apply to persons under the age of 18 applying for marriage license. Please contact the clerk's office for more details.